Sonoran Winds Quintet – Arizona Philharmonic

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Sonoran Winds Quintet – Arizona Philharmonic

November 18, 2023 @ 7:30 pm

The five members of the Arizona Philharmonic Sonoran Winds Quintet pose with their respective instruments.

This program by the Sonoran Winds—comprised of principal players of Arizona Philharmonic—includes four works, beginning with one of the quintets of Anton Reicha. These early 19th-century pieces played an important role in popularizing the woodwind quintet as an ensemble. Next is a contemporary work, the colorful Quintet for Winds by Robert Muczyinski. The most recent work on the program, the Four Bagatelles of Andrey Rubtsov is a light, enjoyable work with several flashes of humor. To close, we present the Early Hungarian Dances of Ferenc Farkas, witty arrangements of 17th-century courtly dances.

$35 – $45 General Admission and Reserved options